George Simones Award

The George Simones Award is given out every year to a Camp Staff Member(s) that exemplifies a heart for service, a passion for Servant Camp, and a love of the outdoors. George was the veteran 5th grade unit leader, who loved to laugh with his campers and show them God’s love through nature.

George Simones was a member of the People of Praise and volunteered as a Camp Staff Unit Leader for many years. George became ill in the beginning of Servant Camp 1994 passed away shortly thereafter.

The following is a list of past George Simones Award Recipients from 1995 to present:

  • 1995 Recipients: Ann Miller, Tammy Krause, John Zimmel, Terry Prevost

  • 1996 Recipients: Ken Kuehn, Jeanne Oberg, Mike Oberg, Margret Wallace, Pat Ficker

  • 1997 Recipients: Ginny DeSanto, Marge Ghostley, Carmen Lee, Ed Schwab, Bev Hermann

  • 1998 Recipients: Ernie Rinehart, Vicki Showalter, Tina (Huebner) LaVergne, Terry Schmidt, Tony Schmitz

  • 1999 Recipients: John Ostby, Bunny Simones

  • 2000 Recipients: Gail Lee, Tom Caneff, Harold & Delores Rolland

  • 2001 Recipients: Tom Kruse, Mary Pat McManmon

  • 2002 Recipients: Julie Krause, John Ryan

  • 2003 Recipients: Jo Zimmel, Jim Ingram, Rosie Tarnowski, Jim Grill

  • 2004 Recipients: Sue & Harold Coulter

  • 2005 Recipient: Emily (Wind) Bowar

  • 2006 Recipients: Gailyn Ryan, Pat Flynn

  • 2007 Recipients: Meg McManmon, Paul Zenker

  • 2008 Recipient: John Krause

  • 2009 Recipient: Dick Stauble

  • 2010 Recipient: Molly (Annala) Kilpatrick

  • 2011 Recipient: Bill Wallace

  • 2012 Recipient: Mike Wacker

  • 2013 Recipients: John & Mary Behrens

  • 2014 Recipients: Tom Staffelbach, Alicia McShane

  • 2015 Recipients: Steve Busk, Beth Couch

  • 2016 Recipients: Juliana Dal Pra, Andy Bowar

  • 2017 Recipients: Anne Varevice, Bradford Elliott

  • 2018 Recipient: James McShane, Laura Rice

  • 2019 Recipient: Claire McManmon

  • 2020 Recipient: Camp at 3 locations— too difficult to choose!

  • 2021 Recipient: Katherine Couch